Most travellers require a travel visa to visit Tanzania. While travel visas can be obtained at the

airport upon arrival, we recommend getting your visa ahead of time to avoid waiting in line.

You can obtain your visa through  sherpa .

Simply download the app and use our referral code    

eco-africaclimbing ’ .

Your passport must be signed with at least six months of validity when you enter Tanzania.

Additional documentation (i.e. proof of vaccination) may also be required based on where you are travelling from.

To apply for a Tanzanian Visa you will need:

  • Original, signed passport with at least six months of validity

  • Letter of Invitation , which includes the host organization, passport details, travel dates,

description of activities, and length and location of stay (must be signed)

  • Trip Itinerary , including entry and exit flight information under the traveller’s name

  • Hotel Reservations under the traveller’s name.

  • Two passport-type photos

Citizens who MUST obtain their visa before departure:

Afghanistan, Azerbaijan,  Bangladesh,  Chad, Djibouti,  Ethiopia,  Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea,  Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan,  Lebanon,  Mali, Mauritania, Niger,  Palestine, Senegal, Somalia,  Sierra Leone, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, and  Sri Lanka.


Citizens who do not require a visa:

Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados,

Belize, Bermuda, Botswana, British Virgin Islands, Brunei, Cayman Islands, Cyprus, Dominica,

Falkland Islands, Gambia, Ghana, Gibraltar, Grenada, Guernsey, Guyana, Hong Kong,

Jamaica, Jersey, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia,

Nauru, Papua New Guinea, Romania, Rwanda, Samoa, Seychelles, Singapore, South Africa,

Swaziland, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia,and Zimbabwe.


You’ll need proof of the Yellow Fever vaccination if you are a citizen (or travelling from) these


Angola, Argentina, Benin, Bolivia, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central

African Republic, Chad, Colombia, Republic of the Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo,

Côte d’Ivoire, Ecuador, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, French Guiana, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana,

Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Kenya, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Panama,

Paraguay, Peru, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Sudan, Sudan, Suriname, Togo,

Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, and Venezuela.